FHLB Chicago MPF · Announcement MPF Announcement 2026-70 · Published

MPF Xtra Servicing Policy Alignment With Fannie Mae Announcement SVC-2026-06

Servicers of MPF Xtra loans must adhere to Fannie Mae Announcement SVC-2026-06 revisions. The updates alter allowable bankruptcy and foreclosure legal expenses and establish an updated timeframe for examining the 1099-C exclusion roster.

InformationalEffective Jan 1, 2027All checks passedRead the announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Loan impact

Summarized from the announcement · verified

Applies to: Mortgages serviced under the MPF Xtra product.

Addressed to
MPF participating financial institutions (PFIs)From the publisher, not quoted from the text
Investor
MpfFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
Affected area
Foreclosure
Affected documents
IRS Form 1099-C; Exclusion roster for tax form distribution
Effective
Jan 1, 2027
Applicability confidence
Verified: every row taken from the source text is supported by it; rows marked "from the publisher" are not quoted

Summary by AWACS. FHLB Chicago MPF's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)

What changed

Summarized from the announcement
RequirementPreviouslyNow
Maximum allowable legal expenses for default proceedingsClarifiedNot statedFannie Mae expanded maximum default legal fees nationally, removed the distinct Florida court proceeding cost, and raised permissible bankruptcy charges.
Review deadline for cancellation of debt exclusion recordsClarifiedNot statedServicing institutions must retrieve and inspect the borrower-level exclusion record by the tenth business day of each January.

What to do

AWACS interpretation · not source language

What to review: Review the adjustments to permissible bankruptcy and foreclosure default legal fees and the new January deadline for checking borrower-level cancellation of debt exclusion records.

QC implications

  • Sample default servicing files to verify that bankruptcy charges and default legal fees comply with the updated allowable maximums.
  • Verify that servicing staff retrieve and inspect the borrower-level cancellation of debt exclusion records by the tenth business day of January.

Source and record

Version 2 · archived

Checks

  • Source verified: Passed

    The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.

  • Quotes match the source: Passed

    Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.

  • Requirements backed by the source: Passed

    Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.

  • In scope: Passed

    The document is about residential mortgage lending.

  • Format and labels: Passed

    The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.

Version history

  1. Version 2 (current)
    Recorded
    • Effective date added for attorney fee schedule revisions: Jan 1, 2027
    • Effective date added for tax reporting exclusion list verification: Jan 15, 2027
    • Effective date removed for Foreclosure and bankruptcy attorney fee limits
    • Effective date removed for Do Not Send 1099-C list review
    • Title updated
    • Summary updated
  2. Version 1
    Recorded