Loan impact
From the announcement text · needs reviewApplies to: Fannie Mae servicers filing IRS Form 1099-C must review the Do Not Send 1099-C list; higher allowable attorney fees apply to foreclosure and bankruptcy matters still active on Jan. 1, 2027.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Investor
- Fannie MaeFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Programs
- ConventionalFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected area
- Foreclosure
- Effective
- Jan 15, 2027
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Supporting quotes from the announcement
- affected areas“Effective: The new allowable fees are effective Jan. 1, 2027, and apply to all matters referred to counsel for initiation of foreclosure and bankruptcy proceedings, regardless of referral date, if the matter is still active as of Jan . 1, 2027.”
What changed
From the announcement text · Sections C-4.2-01, Allowable Foreclosure Attorney Fees Exhibit, Allowable Bankruptcy Attorney Fees Exhibit| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Access to Do Not Send 1099-C listChangedRequiredSection C-4.2-01 | Not stated | Servicers must access and review the loan-level list via Fannie Mae Connect by the 10th business day in January |
| Maximum allowable foreclosure attorney feesRelaxedSection Allowable Foreclosure Attorney Fees Exhibit | Not stated | increase the maximum allowable foreclosure attorney fees in all jurisdictions and US territories |
| Florida trial feeRemovedSection Allowable Foreclosure Attorney Fees Exhibit | Not stated | discontinue the Florida trial fee |
| Applies when: State is FL | ||
| Allowable bankruptcy attorney feesRelaxedSection Allowable Bankruptcy Attorney Fees Exhibit | Not stated | increase fees across all bankruptcy chapters |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review first the new requirement, effective Jan. 15, 2027, to access and review the loan-level Do Not Send 1099-C list through Fannie Mae Connect by the 10th business day in January; then note that from Jan. 1, 2027 servicers may pay up to the higher maximum foreclosure and bankruptcy attorney fees on matters still active that day, and the Florida trial fee no longer applies.
Starting with the Jan. 15, 2027 effective date, access and review the loan-level Do Not Send 1099-C list through Fannie Mae Connect by the 10th business day in January.
QC implications
- Check that servicers filing IRS Form 1099-C opened and reviewed the loan-level Do Not Send 1099-C list in Fannie Mae Connect by the 10th business day in January.
- Sample foreclosure and bankruptcy matters still active on Jan. 1, 2027 to see that any attorney fees above the old limits stay within the new, higher maximums, whatever the referral date.
- For Florida foreclosure matters still active on Jan. 1, 2027, check that no Florida trial fee is claimed now that the fee has been discontinued.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
- An independent check could not confirm which way a change moves a rule; it is not marked as required
- An independent check could not confirm a detail; it was downgraded, never upgraded
- An independent check could not confirm a requirement; it is shown as review, not action
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
Source
- Servicing Guide Announcement SVC-2026-06 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 d96e99ff2a9f…
- Report an error · How versions work