Loan impact
From the rule text · needs reviewApplies to: Single Family Housing Guaranteed Loan Program loans on otherwise qualifying properties that contain or will contain income-producing ADUs, or that have design features for a home-based business.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Investor
- USDAFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Programs
- USDAFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Eligibility; Eligibility
- Effective
- Dec 28, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Supporting quotes from the rule
- affected areas“This limitation shall not apply when an otherwise qualifying property contains, or will contain, a single or multiple accessory dwelling units.”
What changed
From the rule text · Sections 7 CFR 3555.102(b), 7 CFR 3555.102(c), 7 CFR 3555.201(b)(2), 7 CFR 3555.10| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Income-producing land/buildings restriction (ADU exception)RelaxedSection 7 CFR 3555.102(b) | Not stated | Restriction does not apply to otherwise qualifying property containing or that will contain one or more ADUs |
| Applies when: Type is adu | ||
| Business or income-producing enterprise restriction (home-based business exception)RelaxedSection 7 CFR 3555.102(c) | Not stated | Restriction does not apply to otherwise qualifying property with design features for home-based businesses not requiring commercial real estate features |
| Site requirements for income-producing land or buildingsRelaxedSection 7 CFR 3555.201(b)(2) | Not stated | Site limitation does not apply when otherwise qualifying property contains or will contain one or more ADUs |
| Applies when: Type is adu | ||
| Definitions of Accessory Dwelling Unit and Living UnitClarifiedSection 7 CFR 3555.10 | Not stated | Adds definitions of ADU and Living Unit to 7 CFR 3555.10 |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: This rule contains no mandatory changes, so first review the optional relief that starts December 28, 2026: underwriting and appraisal may treat otherwise qualifying properties that contain or will contain one or more ADUs, or that have design features for a home-based business not needing commercial real estate features, as eligible for the guarantee, while still leaving potential ADU income out of income calculations and using the new definitions of ADU and Living Unit.
QC implications
- For Single Family Housing Guaranteed Loan Program loans closed on or after December 28, 2026 on properties that contain or will contain one or more ADUs, QC may check that potential ADU income was left out of income calculations, as the record says the Agency will not count it.
- For loans that use the home-based business exception, QC may check that the property's design features support a home-based business that does not need specific commercial real estate features.
- For loans that use the ADU site exception, QC may check that the property still meets the other eligibility conditions, meaning it is not vacant land without eligible residential improvements and is not used mainly for agriculture, farming or a commercial enterprise.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
- An independent check could not confirm a detail; it was downgraded, never upgraded
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Final rule FR Doc. 2026-22038 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 bce06c9048bd…
- Report an error · How versions work