Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · verifiedApplies to: Non-QM loan applications taken on or after July 20, 2026.
- ANDPennymac loan
- ANDApplication date on or after July 20, 2026
- ANDProgram is Non-QM
- Addressed to
- Pennymac correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- PennymacFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Reserves; Eligibility; Products
- Affected documents
- Schedule of Real Estate Owned; Letter of Explanation; Uniform Residential Loan Application
- Effective
- Applications dated on or after Jul 20, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Verified: every row taken from the source text is supported by it; rows marked "from the publisher" are not quoted
Summary by AWACS. Pennymac Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Kansas business-purpose prepayment penaltiesRelaxed | Not stated | Business-purpose investment property loans located in Kansas may feature standard prepayment penalties. |
| Applies when: Occupancy is investment · State is KS | ||
| DSCR landlord experience documentation methodRelaxed | Previously: Borrowers or guarantors had to supply a signed letter explaining their property management background. | Landlord background and tenure may be verified using the real estate owned schedule on the signed loan application. |
| Minimum DSCR threshold for first-time real estate investorsRelaxed | Previously: The debt-service coverage ratio was required to be strictly above 1.0. | First-time investor qualification permits a debt-service coverage ratio of 1.0 or higher. |
| Maximum reserve cap for additional financed propertiesRelaxed | Previously: Lenders were required to collect reserves without any overarching month limit. | Reserves for additional financed parcels are capped at a maximum of 12 months across all properties. |
| Cumulative reserve calculation for co-borrowers and departing homesClarified | Not stated | Reserves for non-occupant co-borrowers and departing primary residences stack on top of standard reserve requirements. |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review updated Non-QM underwriting flexibilities that permit Kansas investment property prepayment penalties, allow landlord experience verification via the loan application REO schedule, accept a DSCR of 1.0 or higher for first-time investors, cap additional financed property reserves at 12 months, and clarify reserve stacking.
QC implications
- Sample Non-QM loans applied for on or after July 20, 2026 to verify that Kansas investment properties utilize permitted prepayment penalty terms.
- Evaluate DSCR loan files to ensure landlord experience verified via the schedule of real estate owned on the application is complete and that first-time investor ratios are at least 1.0.
- Audit reserve calculations to confirm that additional financed property reserves do not exceed 12 months in total and that reserves for non-occupant co-borrowers and departing residences are stacked appropriately.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
Source
- Correspondent Announcement 26-80 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 6b05b9e09384…
- Report an error · How versions work