Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Non-QM mortgage applications submitted on or after June 12, 2026.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Addressed to
- Pennymac correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- PennymacFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Programs
- Non-QM
- Affected areas
- Reserves; Credit score model; Self employed; Condo projects
- Affected documents
- Profit and loss statement; cryptocurrency asset statements; condominium project documentation
- Effective
- Applications dated on or after Jun 12, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. Pennymac Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Classic FICO score model usageClarified | Not stated | Classic FICO remains mandatory for borrower qualification and loan pricing without exception |
| Cryptocurrency reserve eligibilityRelaxed | Not stated | Borrowers may count up to sixty percent of cryptocurrency market value toward reserves without liquidating |
| Dividend and interest reserve eligibilityRelaxed | Not stated | Income generated from dividends and interest is accepted to satisfy reserve requirements |
| Life insurance and annuity asset depletion eligibilityRelaxed | Not stated | Full cash surrender value for life insurance policies and annuities is eligible under asset depletion qualifying |
| Applies when: Credit program is A or A+ | ||
| Cryptocurrency asset depletion eligibilityRelaxed | Not stated | Sixty percent of digital currency valuation is eligible under asset depletion qualifying |
| Applies when: Credit program is A or A+ | ||
| Housing payment verification timeframeClarified | Not stated | Applicants with less than twenty-four months of housing history must provide complete payment records for all open months |
| Applies when: Credit program is A-, A or A+ | ||
| Bank statement tax professional review standardRelaxed | Previously: A tax professional had to conduct a complete audited review of financial statements | A licensed tax preparer must attest to reviewing financial records or work papers rather than performing an audit |
| Applies when: Credit program is A-, A or A+ | ||
| Condo project waiver unit ceilingRelaxed | Not stated | Waivers of project review are permitted for condo communities with up to ten total units |
| Applies when: Type is condo | ||
| Florida condominium SIRS timing reviewRemoved | Not stated | The pre-closing forty-eight-hour structural reserve study review mandate is eliminated |
| Applies when: State is FL · Type is condo | ||
| Property and hazard insurance guidelinesClarified | Not stated | Coverage standards for residential properties and master condominium or PUD policies are updated to match Fannie Mae requirements |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review the optional Non-QM guideline updates allowing up to sixty percent of cryptocurrency for reserves or asset depletion, written tax preparer attestations for bank statements, and project review waivers for condos with up to ten units.
QC implications
- Sample Non-QM files utilizing cryptocurrency for reserves or asset depletion to verify documented ownership and Coinbase valuation dated within thirty days prior to the note date at or below sixty percent.
- Verify that asset depletion calculations on A and A+ credit programs apply the full cash surrender value for life insurance policies and annuities.
- Review self-employed bank statement files in A-, A, and A+ programs to confirm a licensed tax preparer provided written attestation of reviewing business records or work papers instead of an audit.
- Confirm that borrowers with less than twenty-four months of housing history provide complete records for all open months under applicable credit tiers.
- Test condominium files to verify project review waivers are limited to developments with ten or fewer total units.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Investor Announcement 26-65 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 b2ab833297a7…
- Report an error · How versions work