Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Pennymac Non-QM loans (A-, A, A+, DSCR) on Ohio 1-2 unit properties and on Michigan properties, with applications dated October 22, 2026 or later.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Addressed to
- Pennymac correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- PennymacFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Programs
- Non-QM
- Affected area
- Products
- Affected documents
- Prepayment penalty terms in the note
- Exceptions
- Ohio properties with 3 or 4 units keep their current prepayment penalty rules
- Effective
- Applications dated on or after Oct 22, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. Pennymac Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Ohio Non-QM prepayment penalties on 1-2 unit loansRelaxed | Not stated | Allowed, capped at 1% of unpaid balance with a term no longer than 5 years |
| Applies when: State is OH · Units of at most 2 | ||
| Michigan Non-QM prepayment penaltiesRelaxed | Not stated | Allowed, capped at 1% of unpaid balance with a term no longer than 3 years |
| Applies when: State is MI | ||
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: None of these changes is mandatory: for applications dated October 22, 2026 or later, lenders may now add prepayment penalties to Pennymac Non-QM loans (A-, A, A+, DSCR) on Ohio 1-2 unit properties, capped at 1% of the unpaid balance for up to 5 years, and on Michigan properties, capped at 1% for up to 3 years, while Ohio 3-4 unit loans keep their current rules.
QC implications
- For Pennymac Non-QM loans with applications dated October 22, 2026 or later that carry a prepayment penalty on an Ohio 1-2 unit property, check that the penalty is no more than 1% of the unpaid principal balance and the term is no longer than 5 years.
- For Pennymac Non-QM loans with applications dated October 22, 2026 or later that carry a prepayment penalty on a Michigan property, check that the penalty is no more than 1% of the unpaid principal balance and the term is no longer than 3 years.
- Check that Ohio 3-4 unit loans still follow the existing prepayment penalty rules and do not use the new Ohio allowance.
- Check that the prepayment penalty terms in the note match the cap for the property's state.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- An independent check could not confirm a detail; it was downgraded, never upgraded
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
Source
- Correspondent Announcement 26-129 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 a4306abc4e6e…
- Report an error · How versions work