Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Loans using legacy asset repayment methods must meet strict December 2026 delivery cutoffs, AUS Jumbo loans are prohibited from using accumulated asset income, and conventional loans may immediately adopt new accumulated asset guidelines.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Addressed to
- Pennymac correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- PennymacFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Programs
- Conventional, Jumbo
- Affected areas
- Contracts; Income from accumulated assets; Eligibility
- Affected documents
- Third party verification reports; depository and asset account statements
- Exceptions
- AUS Jumbo products excluded from accumulated asset qualifying
- Effective
- Dec 4, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. Pennymac Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery cutoff for legacy asset repayment loansTightenedRequired | Not stated | Lenders must deliver files qualified under asset repayment rules to the investor by December 4, 2026. |
| Final purchase date for legacy asset repayment loansClarified | Not stated | The investor will conclude purchasing loans under the outgoing asset repayment rules on December 31, 2026. |
| AUS Jumbo program eligibility for accumulated asset incomeTightened | New requirement | Originators are barred from using accumulated asset income calculations on AUS Jumbo loans. |
| Applies when: Program is Jumbo | ||
| Immediate implementation of accumulated asset income rulesRelaxed | Not stated | Originators may elect to begin using the new accumulated asset guidelines ahead of the official mandate. |
| Retirement of asset repayment qualifying optionRemoved | Not stated | Asset repayment calculations are completely discontinued across all products for qualifying purposes. |
| Calculation divisor for accumulated asset incomeChanged | Previously: The monthly calculation divisor was 240 months. | The required divisor to calculate qualifying income is reduced to 180 months. |
| LTV restriction for accumulated asset qualifyingRelaxed | Not stated | Loan-to-value limits now align directly with standard program caps rather than an eighty percent ceiling. |
| Minimum eligible net asset thresholdClarified | New requirement | A minimum threshold of thirty thousand dollars in qualifying net assets is established. |
| Age restriction on depository and securities accountsRelaxed | Not stated | The sixty-two-year age requirement to count depository and investment accounts is removed. |
| Account seasoning and withdrawal accessibilityClarified | Not stated | Qualifying accounts must be owned for a minimum of 12 months, with penalty-free access available as of the note date. |
| Depository account balance fluctuation limitsClarified | Not stated | Balances in depository accounts cannot fluctuate more than twenty percent without documented legitimate causes. Does not apply to: Depository fluctuations resulting from documented eligible transfers or property and business sales. |
| Underwriting decision and eligible transactionsTightened | New requirement | Accumulated asset loans must be an Accept mortgage and remain limited to purchase or no cash-out refinance transactions. |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review the mandatory December 4, 2026 delivery deadline for loans using legacy asset repayment guidelines, followed by the optional accumulated asset income terms and the exclusion of AUS Jumbo loans.
Deliver files qualified under legacy asset repayment rules to the investor by December 4, 2026.
QC implications
- Verify that loans qualifying under legacy asset repayment guidelines meet the December 4, 2026 delivery cutoff.
- Confirm that accumulated asset income calculations are not applied to AUS Jumbo loans.
- Ensure that early-adopted accumulated asset loans apply the 180-month divisor, meet the thirty thousand dollars minimum net asset threshold, and satisfy the 12-month ownership requirement.
- Check that depository account balance fluctuations exceeding twenty percent have documented eligible causes.
- Confirm that accumulated asset loans receive an Accept recommendation and are limited to purchase or no cash-out refinance transactions.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
- A loan-impact detail without a supporting quote was removed
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
- An independent check could not confirm which way a change moves a rule; it is not marked as required
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Correspondent Announcement 26-124 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 e7893671ecec…
- Report an error · How versions work