Pennymac Correspondent · Announcement 26-120 · Published

Retirement of Asset-Based Qualification and Introduction of Accumulated Assets as Income

Superseded by Announcement 26-124 (Oct 14, 2026): Pennymac established December 2026 delivery and purchase cutoff deadlines for mortgages qualifying under the retiring asset repayment standard. Pennymac adopts Freddie Mac guidelines replacing asset-based repayment calculations with accumulated assets as income, while excluding this option from AUS Jumbo loans.

Superseded by Announcement 26-124 ↗ (opens in a new tab) (). Check the later announcement before acting on this one.

InformationalEffective Feb 3, 2027Checks passed· adjusted automaticallyRead the announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Loan impact

Summarized from the announcement · needs review

Applies to: Conventional mortgages utilizing accumulated assets as qualifying income, with automated jumbo products excluded.

Scope differs by change; see each change below.

Addressed to
Pennymac correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
Investor
PennymacFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
Programs
Jumbo
Affected area
Income from accumulated assets
Affected documents
Asset verification statements; depository account statements
Exceptions
automated underwriting jumbo loans
Effective
Feb 3, 2027
Applicability confidence
Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source

Summary by AWACS. Pennymac Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)

What changed

Summarized from the announcement
RequirementPreviouslyNow
AUS Jumbo asset income eligibilityTightenedNot statedBorrowers obtaining automated jumbo financing may not use accumulated assets to qualify for repayment.
Applies when: Program is Jumbo
Asset qualification structure replacementChangedNot statedThe earlier asset repayment standard is discontinued and replaced by accumulated assets income provisions.
LTV limits and income calculation divisorRelaxedNot statedLTV caps align with standard program limits instead of eighty percent and the calculation divisor is reduced to one hundred eighty months.
Minimum net eligible assetsNewNot statedApplicants must demonstrate at least thirty thousand dollars in qualifying net assets.
Borrower age restrictionRelaxedNot statedThe minimum borrower age requirement of sixty-two for depository and securities accounts is removed.
Asset ownership seasoning and accessNewNot statedAccounts used for qualification must be held for twelve months or longer and allow withdrawal without penalty as of the note date.
Depository balance variation limitNewNot statedBalances in depository accounts may not fluctuate by over twenty percent absent documented business or real estate transactions or eligible transfers.
Permissible automated verification sourcesRelaxedNot statedLenders may substantiate assets using electronic third-party verification vendor reports.
Eligible transaction types and underwriting findingNewNot statedMortgages must have an Accept recommendation and are restricted to purchase or no cash-out refinance transactions.
Occupancy and affordable lending product accessRelaxedNot statedAll residential occupancy configurations are eligible, including HomeOne and Home Possible financing programs.

What to do

AWACS interpretation · not source language

What to review: Review the guidelines allowing accumulated assets as income in place of the retiring asset repayment calculation, including the removed age sixty-two restriction, the one hundred eighty month divisor, and the exclusion of automated jumbo mortgages.

QC implications

  • Sample loans utilizing accumulated assets as income to confirm that automated jumbo loans do not use this qualification method.
  • Test that qualifying applicants hold at least thirty thousand dollars in net eligible assets and accounts are held for twelve months or longer with penalty-free access as of the note date.
  • Verify that depository balances do not fluctuate by more than twenty percent without documented eligible transfers or transactions.
  • Check that loans using accumulated assets reflect an Accept recommendation, are limited to purchase or no cash-out refinance transactions, and apply the one hundred eighty months divisor.

Source and record

Version 1 · archived

Checks

  • Source verified: Passed

    The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.

  • Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically

    Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.

    • A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
  • Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically

    Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.

    • A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
  • In scope: Passed

    The document is about residential mortgage lending.

  • Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically

    The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.

    • A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted