Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Fannie Mae loans sold to Newrez, where employment verification is limited to verbal, written or vendor methods; the restated Fannie Mae income and K-1 VOE updates also apply.
- Addressed to
- Newrez LLC "Newrez" Approved Correspondent Clients
- Investor
- NewrezFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Exceptions
- K-1 showing only rental income does not need a verbal VOE
- Effective
- Applications dated on or after Dec 2, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. Newrez Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement · Sections B3-3.1-04, B3-2| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Allowed methods for verifying employment (Newrez overlay)NewRequiredSection B3-3.1-04 | New requirement | Only verbal, written or vendor verification is accepted; Newrez bars any other method, and this overlay also applies to DU loans |
| Verbal VOE for K-1 income from minority ownership (Fannie Mae restated)ClarifiedSection B3-3.1-04 | Not stated | A verbal VOE is needed when qualifying with K-1 income from a business owned less than 25%; not needed if the K-1 shows only rental income |
| Fannie Mae no longer lists specific verbal VOE methods (restated)RemovedSection B3-3.1-04 | Not stated | Fannie Mae dropped its list of verbal VOE methods; the timing rules are unchanged |
| Income continuance measuring date (Fannie Mae restated)ChangedSection B3-2 | Not stated | Three-year continuance is measured from the application date |
| Proof that an employment offer was accepted (Fannie Mae restated)RelaxedSection B3-2 | Not stated | Acceptance can be shown by a signed agreement, written confirmation such as email, or another verifiable method |
| Documenting new annuity or pension income (Fannie Mae restated)RelaxedSection B3-2 | Not stated | A provider benefit statement can be used if payments start by the first payment due date; it must show the income type, amount, frequency and start date |
| Attorney opinion letters (existing Newrez overlay)Clarified | Not stated | Still not accepted by Newrez |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: First, check that employment on Fannie Mae loans sold to Newrez, including DU loans, is now verified only verbally, in writing or through a vendor; then note that Newrez still does not accept attorney opinion letters, and review the restated Fannie Mae updates: the K-1 verbal VOE rule for applications from 2026-12-02, the dropped list of verbal VOE methods, three-year continuance measured from the application date, and the wider options for proving an accepted job offer and documenting new annuity or pension income, which lenders may use.
Starting now, on Fannie Mae loans sold to Newrez, including DU loans, verify employment only verbally, in writing or through a verification vendor, and do not accept any other method.
QC implications
- Sample Fannie Mae loans sold to Newrez, including DU loans, to confirm employment was verified only verbally, in writing or through a vendor.
- Flag any file in the sample where employment was verified some other way.
- For applications dated on or after 2026-12-02 that use K-1 income from a business owned less than 25%, check whether a verbal VOE is in the file, keeping in mind it is not needed when the K-1 shows only rental income.
- Where offer acceptance or new annuity or pension income is documented under the restated Fannie Mae options, check that the documentation fits what the record describes, such as a benefit statement showing the income type, amount, frequency and start date.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
- An independent check could not confirm which loans a change applies to; those conditions were removed
- An independent check could not confirm which way a change moves a rule; it is not marked as required
- An independent check could not confirm a detail; it was downgraded, never upgraded
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Correspondent Announcement 2026-092 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 33e8d760952e…
- Report an error · How versions work