Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · verifiedApplies to: Section 184 guaranteed mortgages delivered to Newrez for purchase.
- ANDNewrez loan
- ANDProduct is HUD 184
- Addressed to
- Newrez correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- NewrezFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Contracts; Eligibility
- Affected documents
- HUD Section 184 firm commitment; promissory note
- Effective
- Sep 22, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Verified: every row taken from the source text is supported by it; rows marked "from the publisher" are not quoted
Summary by AWACS. Newrez Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-closing cohort number and firm commitment prerequisiteTightenedRequired | Not stated | Mortgages must have both a cohort number and a firm commitment issued by HUD before the note date to remain eligible for purchase by Newrez. |
| Agency pause on cohort number issuanceClarified | Not stated | HUD has halted the processing of requests for Section 184 cohort numbers during its fiscal closeout, but continues issuing case numbers and guarantee certificates. |
Each change applies when all the loan-impact conditions above are true.
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review HUD Section 184 pipelines immediately to confirm that both a firm commitment and a cohort number are obtained from HUD prior to the note date for purchase eligibility.
Verify that both a cohort number and a firm commitment have been issued by HUD before the note date on all HUD Section 184 loans.
Ensure that HUD Section 184 notes are not dated or executed prior to receiving both the HUD cohort number and the firm commitment.
Confirm that any HUD Section 184 mortgage delivered to Newrez has both a cohort number and a firm commitment issued prior to the note date before purchasing.
QC implications
- Sample HUD Section 184 loans to verify that the issuance dates on both the firm commitment and the cohort number precede the note date.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
Source
- Correspondent Announcement 2026-084 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 96098c3c9807…
- Report an error · How versions work