Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Smart Series loans currently in processing as well as new submissions received on or following the announcement date.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Addressed to
- Newrez correspondent sellersFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- NewrezFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Gifts; Reserves
- Affected documents
- Asset statements; scoring engine documentation
- Effective
- Applications dated on or after Sep 24, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. Newrez Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement · Sections 6A.1(a), 6A.4(b)| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum borrower contribution from own funds on SmartVest loans when LTV or CLTV exceeds 80%TightenedRequiredSection 6A.1(a) | Previously: All down payment and closing cost monies were permitted to come entirely from gift funds. | For all occupancy types, borrowers must provide at least 5% from their own funds based on the purchase price or appraised value, whichever is less, unless the LTV or CLTV is at or below 80%. |
| Applies when: Product is SmartVest | ||
| Review threshold for large deposits on SmartVestRelaxedSection 6A.4(b) | Previously: Underwriters had to evaluate substantial deposits across all purchase files to verify absence of gift funds. | Evaluation of substantial or irregular deposits for gift monies is restricted to purchase loans exceeding eighty percent financing. |
| Applies when: Product is SmartVest · Purpose is purchase | ||
| Adverse credit event lookback for rate and term refinancesNew | New requirement | Derogatory mortgage history and bankruptcy filings must not have occurred within seven years prior to the note date. |
| Applies when: Purpose is no_cash_out_refi | ||
| Interest-only reserve calculation methodology on SmartVestClarified | Not stated | Reserve computations for interest-only offerings must incorporate the interest-only payment figure alongside escrow and association dues. |
| Applies when: Product is SmartVest | ||
| Ceiling on subject property reserve requirementsRemoved | Not stated | The cap restricting total required reserves to fifteen months has been eliminated. |
| Applies when: Product is SmartVest | ||
| Automated underwriting scoring tool reconciliationRemoved | Not stated | The requirement for underwriters to reconcile submitted scoring tools with final transaction parameters was eliminated. |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Underwriting teams should first review pipeline and newly submitted SmartVest purchase loans with financing above 80% LTV or CLTV to enforce the mandatory 5% minimum borrower contribution from personal funds.
Effective September 24, 2026, ensure SmartVest purchase applications in the pipeline and newly submitted require at least 5% borrower contribution from own funds based on the lesser of the purchase price or appraised value whenever LTV or CLTV exceeds 80%.
QC implications
- Sample SmartVest purchase transactions with LTV or CLTV exceeding 80% to verify borrowers contributed at least 5% from their own funds rather than relying solely on gifts.
- Verify that rate and term refinance files reflect the seven-year adverse credit lookback for bankruptcy filings and derogatory mortgage history.
- Confirm that SmartVest interest-only reserve calculations include the interest-only payment amount with escrow and association dues, and that reserves are no longer capped at fifteen months.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
- A loan-impact detail without a supporting quote was removed
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- An independent check could not confirm a requirement; it is shown as review, not action
- An independent check could not confirm which way a change moves a rule; it is not marked as required
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
Source
- Correspondent Announcement 2026-082 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 2e6250f280f8…
- Report an error · How versions work