Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Loans originated for sale to Newrez under Fannie Mae guidelines, including condominium projects, cooperatives with ground leases, and electronic notes.
Scope differs by change; see each change below.
- Addressed to
- Newrez LLC "Newrez" Approved Correspondent Clients
- Investor
- NewrezFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Eligibility; Condo projects; EligibilityGuide Section B4-2.1-01
- Affected documents
- Electronic promissory notes; ground lease agreements; written lease extension confirmations
- Exceptions
- HomeStyle Renovation loans not offered by investor
- Effective
- Applications dated on or after Aug 3, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. Newrez Correspondent's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement · Sections B4-2.1-01, E-2-04, B3-5.3-09| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Ground lease term options for co-op projectsRelaxed | Previously: Ground leases generally must extend at least five years past loan maturity without credit for unexercised options. | Lenders may count early exercised renewal or extension options permitted under state law toward the minimum term. |
| Applies when: Type is coop | ||
| Condo delivery code for limited reviewsClarifiedSection B4-2.1-01 | Not stated | Deliveries for limited review loans applied for prior to August 3, 2026 must continue utilizing Project Type Code Q. |
| Applies when: Application date on or before August 2, 2026 · Type is condo | ||
| Effective date for project reserve standardsClarified | Not stated | Updated project reserve standards will take effect for loan applications taken on or after January 4, 2027. |
| PERS eligibility for deed-restricted and single-section manufactured homesClarified | Not stated | Newrez maintains an overlay prohibiting manufactured housing involving deed restrictions or single-section configurations under PERS. |
| Applies when: Type is manufactured | ||
| Inter vivos trust limits on electronic notesClarifiedSection E-2-04 | Not stated | Electronic promissory notes may reflect a maximum of one inter vivos revocable trust. |
| Underwriting guidelines for authorized users and third-party debt paymentsClarifiedSection B3-5.3-09 | Not stated | Guidance clarifies handling authorized user accounts in DU Approve/Eligible loans and documenting debts paid by others for exclusion from DTI. |
Also affected: Section B3-6-05.
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review the flexibility permitting early exercised ground lease renewal options for co-ops and the associated documentation requirements, alongside delivery coding rules for condo limited reviews and trust restrictions on eNotes.
QC implications
- Verify that co-op files relying on early exercised ground lease extensions contain written confirmation from the lessor or legal counsel establishing that the option was validly exercised and remains legally binding.
- Sample condo deliveries with application dates prior to August 3, 2026 to confirm limited review loans maintain Project Type Code Q.
- Check electronic promissory notes to ensure they do not exceed the maximum limit of one inter vivos revocable trust.
- Confirm that loans secured by manufactured homes under PERS adhere to the overlay prohibiting deed restrictions and single-section properties.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Announcement 2026-065 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 37d9639e6f0e…
- Report an error · How versions work