Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · needs reviewApplies to: Conventional mortgages originated for sale under the MPF Xtra product line.
- ANDMpf loan
- ANDProduct is MPF Xtra
- Addressed to
- MPF participating financial institutions (PFIs)From the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- MpfFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Title; Employment verification; General
- Affected documents
- Verbal employment verification documentation; Employment offer or employment contract; Attorney opinion letter
- Exceptions
- Unlisted topics published in Fannie Mae SEL-2026-09
- Applicability confidence
- Needs review: some rows could not be matched to a quote from the source
Summary by AWACS. FHLB Chicago MPF's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Verbal employment verification standardsRelaxed | Not stated | Operational flexibility is increased by removing defined verbal verification methods and enhancing guideline clarity. |
| Income continuance and contract delivery policyClarified | Not stated | Guidance updates rules for income continuance and explains delivery processes when utilizing employment offers or contracts. |
| Attorney opinion letters and right of first refusalRelaxed | Not stated | Eligibility is broadened and governing requirements are clarified regarding attorney opinion letters and properties with right of first refusal. |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review the updated flexibilities for MPF Xtra loans concerning verbal employment verification procedures, employment contract delivery guidelines, and attorney opinion letter eligibility.
QC implications
- Sample MPF Xtra loan files utilizing the relaxed verbal employment verification standards and employment contracts to confirm they satisfy updated income continuance and delivery guidance.
- Verify that transactions involving attorney opinion letters or right of first refusal terms align with the expanded eligibility criteria.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
Requirements backed by the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
- An independent check could not confirm a requirement; it is shown as review, not action
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Announcement MPF Announcement 2026-68 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 509e7537af7f…
- Report an error · How versions work