Loan impact
Summarized from the announcement · verifiedApplies to: Applies to RefiNow loans delivered under the MPF Xtra product.
- ANDMpf loan
- ANDProduct is RefiNow
- Addressed to
- MPF participating financial institutions (PFIs)From the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Investor
- MpfFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected areas
- Recommendation; Condo projects
- Affected documents
- Desktop Underwriter findings report
- Effective
- Sep 25, 2026
- Applicability confidence
- Verified: every row taken from the source text is supported by it; rows marked "from the publisher" are not quoted
Summary by AWACS. FHLB Chicago MPF's guide is proprietary, so AWACS does not reproduce its text. Read the official announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)
What changed
Summarized from the announcement| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Automated underwriting decision requirement for RefiNow deliveriesTightenedRequired | Not stated | Participating lenders must deliver RefiNow loans with a Desktop Underwriter Approve/Eligible recommendation. |
| Project review waiver standards for RefiNow loansRelaxed | Not stated | Project review waiver criteria for RefiNow mortgages align with standard Selling Guide policy. |
Each change applies when all the loan-impact conditions above are true.
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review RefiNow underwriting procedures immediately to ensure all deliveries under MPF Xtra obtain an Approve/Eligible recommendation from Desktop Underwriter, and note the alignment of project review waivers with standard Selling Guide terms.
Ensure all RefiNow loans delivered under the MPF Xtra program receive an Approve/Eligible recommendation from Desktop Underwriter immediately.
Deliver RefiNow loans under the MPF Xtra program only when supported by a Desktop Underwriter Approve/Eligible recommendation immediately.
QC implications
- Sample RefiNow loan files to confirm the presence of a Desktop Underwriter Approve/Eligible recommendation rather than manual underwriting.
- Verify that any project review waivers applied to RefiNow loans follow standard Selling Guide requirements.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Requirements backed by the source: Passed
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
Source
- Investor Announcement MPF Announcement 2026-60 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 e451f618532b…
- Report an error · How versions work