Loan impact
From the letter text · verifiedApplies to: All FHA-approved mortgagees originating or servicing FHA-insured mortgages that experience a reportable cyber incident.
- Addressed to
- All FHA-Approved Mortgagees
- Investor
- FHAFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Programs
- FHAFrom the publisher, not quoted from the text
- Affected area
- Records
- Applicability confidence
- Verified: every row taken from the source text is supported by it; rows marked "from the publisher" are not quoted
Supporting quotes from the letter
- affected areas“The policy changes supersede ML 2024-10 and will be incorporated into Handbook 4000.1 as follows: Operational Compliance (V.A.2.b)”
What changed
From the letter text · Section V.A.2.b| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Reportable Cyber Incident notification deadlineChangedRequired | Not stated | Mortgagees must notify HUD as soon as possible and no later than 36 hours after determining that a Reportable Cyber Incident has occurred. |
| Cyber Incident notification required informationChangedRequired | Not stated | Reported cyber incidents must include mortgagee identification, designated contact information, incident description, and current response status. |
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: Review the immediate requirement to notify HUD of reportable cyber incidents within 36 hours of determination along with all mandated incident and contact details.
Notify HUD as soon as possible and no later than 36 hours after determining that a reportable cyber incident has occurred, submitting all required mortgagee details, contact information, incident descriptions, and response status updates.
Establish escalation procedures to capture and provide all required cyber incident details to HUD within 36 hours of determining that a reportable incident occurred.
QC implications
- Verify that any reportable cyber incidents were reported to HUD no later than 36 hours after determination and contained all mandatory reporting details.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks
Source verified: Passed
The document ID, link and publication date match the official source.
Quotes match the source: Passed, adjusted automatically
Every quoted passage appears word for word in the official document.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Requirements backed by the source: Passed
Anything marked required is backed by the requirement language and dates in the source.
In scope: Passed
The document is about residential mortgage lending.
Format and labels: Passed, adjusted automatically
The record follows the AWACS format and uses its standard labels.
- A detail the source does not support was removed or adjusted
Source
- Mortgagee Letter ML 2024-23 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 d16c5747b1f0…
- Report an error · How versions work