Loan impact
From the announcement text · verifiedApplies to: Fannie Mae sellers and servicers applying income assessment policy under Chapter B3-3 and servicing transfer reviews; servicers of loans in Stop Delinquency Advance process benefit from the removed guaranty fee advance requirement.
- Investor
- Fannie Mae
- Programs
- Conventional
- Affected area
- GeneralGuide Section F-1-28
- Effective
- Jun 1, 2026Sellers may implement immediately
- Applicability confidence
- Verified: every row above is supported by the source text
Supporting quotes from the announcement
- affected areas“Income assessment policy updates and clarifications: We updated Chapter B3-3, Income Assessment of the Selling Guide.”
- guide sections“Income assessment policy updates and clarifications: We updated Chapter B3-3, Income Assessment of the Selling Guide.”
What changed
From the announcement text · Sections B3-3 / F-1-28, C-3-01, F-1-20| Requirement | Previously | Now |
|---|---|---|
| Income assessment policy updates (Selling Guide B3-3)ChangedRequiredSection B3-3 / F-1-28 | Not stated | Updates introduce new policies, policy changes, and clarifications to improve clarity and consistency |
| Guaranty fee advances for Stop Delinquency Advance loansRemovedSection C-3-01, F-1-20 | Previously: Servicers were required to advance guaranty fees for loans in the Stop Delinquency Advance process | Requirement to advance guaranty fees removed |
| Temporary interest rate buydown funds languageClarifiedSection C-3-01, F-1-20 | Not stated | Outdated language referencing Fannie Mae holding buydown funds removed |
Also affected: Sections F-1-28, C-3-01, F-1-20, B3-3.
What to do
AWACS interpretation · not source languageWhat to review: First review the mandatory income assessment updates to Selling Guide Chapter B3-3, which may be applied immediately but must be applied by June 1, 2026; then note that servicers may use the remittance clarifications (guaranty fee advance removal for Stop Delinquency Advance loans, and removed buydown funds language) immediately.
Apply the Selling Guide B3-3 income assessment policy updates no later than June 1, 2026, noting they may be applied immediately.
Apply the income assessment policy updates no later than June 1, 2026, noting they may be applied immediately.
QC implications
- Test that income assessment on files follows the updated B3-3 policy once the lender applies it, and no later than June 1, 2026.
- Check that the date the lender began applying the income assessment changes is consistent and is no later than June 1, 2026.
- Note that the removal of the guaranty fee advance requirement for Stop Delinquency Advance loans and the removal of the buydown funds language are optional to use now and do not create a new test requirement.
Source and record
Version 1 · archivedChecks passed
- Schema valid
- Effective quotes verbatim
- Document ID appears in the source
- Doc id matches catalog
- Mandatory status is backed by requirement language
- Mandatory entries have requirement language
- Published on present
- Title summary length
- Controlled vocabulary
- No placeholder tokens
- Source link resolves
- Loan impact quotes verbatim
- Loan impact vocabulary
- Changes quoted
- Impact type consistent
- Every required change is backed by obligation language
- Only new or tightened changes are marked required
- Loan impact covers every required change
- Quotes are complete sentences
- Unflagged must
- Diff complete
- Mandatory date resolved
- Audience verbatim
- Scope residential
- Out of scope
- Published in window
- Interpretation schema valid
- Interpretation separate
Source
- Servicing Guide Announcement SVC-2026-02 (official) ↗ (opens in a new tab)
- Archived copy, SHA-256 d7e841392dd3…
- Report an error · How versions work