Arch MI · Customer Announcement CA 2024-04 · Published

Arch MI increases maximum loan amounts to match new 2025 conforming and high-balance limits

Arch MI is raising its maximum loan amounts for EZ Decisioning and standard underwriting to the new 2025 conforming and high-balance limits, effective immediately, and moves the start of its jumbo range up. Loans with a DU Approve/Ineligible or LPA Accept/Ineligible (loan amount only) within the new maximums are EZ Decisioning eligible, and the CA 2024-03 limits may be used only through January…

Review recommendedEffective Jan 5, 2025Checks passed· adjusted automaticallyRead the announcement ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Loan impact

From the announcement text · verified

Applies to: Conventional loans insured by Arch MI under EZ Decisioning or standard underwriting, with new higher maximum loan amounts.

Scope differs by change; see each change below.

Investor
Arch
Programs
Conventional
Affected areas
Eligibility; Eligibility
Affected documents
Arch MI Underwriting Manual
Effective
Jan 5, 2025
Applicability confidence
Verified: every row above is supported by the source text
Supporting quotes from the announcement
  • affected areas“Effective immediately, Arch MI will support the new loan limits as detailed below.”
  • affected documents“The Underwriting Manual and all supporting documents will be updated in January 2025.”

What changed

From the announcement text
RequirementPreviouslyNow
1-unit maximum loan amount (baseline conforming)RelaxedPreviously: $766,550$806,500
1-unit maximum loan amount (high-balance)RelaxedPreviously: $1,149,825$1,209,750
Jumbo loan amount range (standard underwriting)ChangedPreviously: $1,149,826–$2,000,000$1,209,751–$2,000,000
2-unit primary residence maximum loan amountRelaxedPreviously: $1,472,250$1,548,975
Applies when: Occupancy is primary · Units is 2
3-unit primary residence maximum loan amountRelaxedPreviously: $1,186,350$1,248,150
Applies when: Occupancy is primary · Units is 3
4-unit primary residence maximum loan amountRelaxedPreviously: $1,474,400$1,551,250
Applies when: Occupancy is primary · Units is 4
EZ Decisioning eligibility for DU Approve/Ineligible or LPA Accept/Ineligible (loan amount only)RelaxedNot statedLoans within the new maximum loan amounts are eligible for EZ Decisioning when all other underwriting requirements are met
CA 2024-03 expanded EZ Decisioning 1-unit limits submission windowClarifiedNot statedCA 2024-03 limits of $810,000 ($1,215,000 for Alaska and Hawaii) may be used through January 5, 2025 only

What to do

AWACS interpretation · not source language

What to review: No change here is mandatory, so first review the optional flexibility: Arch MI now supports higher maximum loan amounts effective immediately, and a loan with a DU Approve/Ineligible or LPA Accept/Ineligible (loan amount only) within the new maximums may be EZ Decisioning eligible if all other requirements are met. Lenders may also keep using the CA 2024-03 1-unit limits through January 5, 2025 only.

QC implications

  • For Arch MI loans, check that the maximum loan amount applied matches the new figures: 806,500 for baseline 1-unit and 1,209,750 for high-balance 1-unit.
  • For standard underwriting, check that the jumbo range is treated as starting at 1,209,751 and running to 2,000,000.
  • For primary residences, check that the new maximums were used: 1,548,975 for 2-unit, 1,248,150 for 3-unit and 1,551,250 for 4-unit.
  • Sample loans with a DU Approve/Ineligible or LPA Accept/Ineligible (loan amount only) that were underwritten before the system updates. Confirm they are within the new maximums and that all other underwriting requirements were met before they were treated as EZ Decisioning eligible.
  • Where loans were submitted under the CA 2024-03 expanded EZ Decisioning 1-unit limits of 810,000 (1,215,000 for Alaska and Hawaii), confirm the submission was made by January 5, 2025.

Source and record

Version 1 · archived

Checks passed

  • Schema valid
  • Effective quotes verbatim
  • Document ID appears in the source
  • Doc id matches catalog
  • Mandatory status is backed by requirement language
  • Mandatory entries have requirement language
  • Published on present
  • Controlled vocabulary
  • No placeholder tokens
  • Source link resolves
  • Loan impact quotes verbatim
  • Loan impact vocabulary
  • Changes quoted
  • Impact type consistent
  • Every required change is backed by obligation language
  • Only new or tightened changes are marked required
  • Loan impact covers every required change
  • Quotes are complete sentences
  • Unflagged must
  • Diff complete
  • Mandatory date resolved
  • Audience verbatim
  • Scope residential
  • Out of scope
  • Published in window
  • Interpretation schema valid
  • Interpretation separate

Adjusted automatically

  • Title or summary shortened